The port of Long Beach has appointed Sharon L. Weissman as harbour commission president, Bobby Olvera Jr as vice president and Bonnie Lowenthal as secretary.


Weissman, Olvera and Lowenthal will serve one-year terms on the board, starting on August 8. Appointed to the harbour commission in 2020, Weissman was elected as vice president of the board in July 2021. She replaces current president Steven Neal.

Weissman said: “In collaboration with my fellow commissioners, executive director Mario Cordero, and staff, I look forward to navigating our way through the challenges of the supply chain, supporting the necessary infrastructure that will keep the port competitive, and building upon the port’s robust green initiatives.”