South Korea has designated new national sulphur emission control areas, which will come into effect September 1, 2020.

The first stage of the restrictions will require ships to switch to fuel oil not exceeding a sulphur content of 0.1 percent, from one hour after anchoring and mooring to one hour before de-berthing.

From January 1, 2022 the requirement will tighten and ships will have to switch to fuel oil not exceeding 0.1 percent upon entering the control areas.

The restrictions will apply to six ports: Busan, Incheon, Ulsan, Yeosu, Gwangyang and Pyeongtaek-Dangjin.