April 20 - The Specialized Carriers & Rigging Association (SC&RA) has awarded 18 Crane Operator Safety Awards during its 2010 Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida.

This new award was presented by the Virginia-based association to certified crane operators which exhibit exemplary work achievements while accumulating 10,000 consecutive man-hours and recording zero accidents or incidents. The winners were: J.J. Curran Crane, Michigan; Dutcher-Phipps Crane & Rigging, Texas; W.O. Grubb Crane Rental; Industrial Builders, North Dakota; Mountain Crane Service, Utah; Mr. Crane, California. 

22 members won a Crane & Rigging Safety Award because of their superior safety records while 13 member companies received the Crane & Rigging Zero Accidents Award because they did not have a single recordable accident or injury in the past year. Five SC&RA member companies earned a Crane & Rigging Safety Improvement Award by showing an improved incidence rate compared to the previous year's contest entry. 

At the conference, the association also elected William Stramer as president. Joining Stramer as officers for the 2010-2011 term are: chairman; Paul LeFebvre; vice president: David Lowry; treasurer: Bill Keen; and assistant treasurer: Michael Battaini. Also joining the Board were four newly elected group chairs for the: allied industries group, crane and rigging group, transportation group, and ladies group.

With the exception of the board members and the treasurer, all newly-elected officers will serve one-year terms that will expire at the association's 2011 conference.

Additionally, SC&RA elected the following six new board members to serve three-year terms: Larry Curran, Robert Hileman, Ron Schad, Paul DeLong, Chris Koenig and Ron Montgomery.

In recognition and appreciation of loyal membership, the association presented 23 Longevity Awards ranging from 25 to 60 years during the conference.

Laramie Enterprises of Detroit, Michigan, Robinson Cartage Company of Michigan and Talbert Manufacturing of Indiana were given 60 year awards.

For further details on all the award winners and appointments visit the SC&RA website: