April 21 - Four drivers in the specialised carrier industry received a Million Miler Award for Safety Excellence from the Specialized Carriers & Rigging Association (SC&RA) during its recent 2010 Annual Conference.

These drivers each accumulated a minimum of one million consecutive miles of safe driving within the industry, the equivalent of driving to the moon and back twice.

The four drivers were: James Wayne Burns, Riechmann Transport, Illinois; David L. Darby, Flatbed Express, Nebraska; Eugene Dudgeon Jr., Wanzek Construction, North Dakota; Joseph Sadowski, LeFebvre & Sons, Minnesota.

The SC&RA also announced the winners of the Fleet Safety, Fleet Safety Improvement and Zero Accident awards during its Annual Conference.

The contests are part of SC&RA's ongoing effort to encourage its motor carrier members to transport, lift and erect oversize/overweight items safely.

Five SC&RA member companies received an award for having the lowest accident frequency rate in different mileage categories: Over 50 million miles: Landstar System; 20 million to 50 million miles: Bennett Motor Express; 5 million to 20 million miles: Riechmann Transport; 1.5 million to 5 million miles: Unigroup Worldwide Specialty Flatbed; and 100,000 to 1.5 million miles: Bridger Crane & Rigging.

Ten SC&RA member companies also received a Zero Accident Award for having no recordable injuries during all of 2009. Eight companies earned a Fleet Safety Improvement Award by showing a reduction in their accident frequency rate for miles travelled, compared to their previous year accident frequency rate.