December 8 - Carol Whitmore has been elected to a third one-year term as chairwoman of the Manatee County Port Authority, the governing board of Port Manatee, which has also welcomed Charles B. Smith as its newest member.

Also elected to one-year terms as officers were: Vanessa Baugh, first vice chairwoman; John Chappie, second vice chairman; and Betsy Benac, third vice chairwoman.

The other members of the seven-person port authority board are Larry Bustle, Robin DiSabatino and Smith.

Port Manatee claims to be the closest U.S. deepwater seaport to the expanding Panama Canal, serving bulk, breakbulk, container, heavy lift, project and general cargo customers.


Carol Whitmore.


Charles B. Smith.